Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
NOT a PRICE CHECK

Ok here is the situation, or should I say situations.

I am in desperate need of help in making a decision.

So last week I take an unplanned stop at the local shop(Orlando suburb) and asked the clerk whether they had any Sig p229 .40 in stock. to my surprise she said yes and pulled out one and almost floored me with the price $550 on sale for $450 I was so tempted at that momment to whip out the old credit card until I dropped the magazine...aftermarket. Cosmetically the gun looked to be in good condition but I am no expert and being new in the area (and firearms on the whole) i don't have anyone to accompany me to the store.

I asked the clerk if she had any history on the firearm........NO:thumbsdwn

How old is it?....I don't know:thumbsdwn

is there any warranty?.....yeah Sig has lifetime warranty

(I believe that sig's warranty is for original owner only)

What does it come with?....the one magazine:thumbsdwn

Not a problem guenuine mags are not that $$$$$$$

What if something goes wrong?....come back and talk to me, my guys in the back are the best.

By this time I start to feel uneasy:thumbsdwn BUT it FEELS SOOOO GOOD in MY HAND

I then noticed that the shop had a brand new pp29 but chambered in .357 for $740 a good price I believe from my research... but I really want a .40. I asked whether if she could get me one brand new, yes but the price went up to $859 plus tax( money I don't have at present.

Is there anything I should check the firearm physically for? (again it looks clean)

Are there any other questions I should ask the clerk?

Would you buy this for CCW puposes or do without one until you can save for brand new?

What is the worse case scenario to get this repaired down the line if need be $$$$$?

Oh BTW I am 6'4 220lbs and have big hands. I have shot the p229 before and it just feels right.