Florida Concealed Carry banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
3,286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First, I'm not a pro, just a guy who has had way too much money wasted on holsters

A holsters job is to hold your gun where you want it, without letting it move. Its also supposed to make operating the trigger impossible while holstered. The last job of a holster is to let you draw with as much speed as possible when you call on it to do so. Those jobs in mind lets answer some questions in brief no sugar coated answers.

Gimmick tricks like trigger guards on a string:
I think the fact I started by calling the gimmicks should say enough

Leather vs Kydex:
Leather is nice, pretty, soft, and the trusted material of the wild wild west. Leather is also costly (for the good stuff which should be read as not the off the counter stuff) and the fastest custom leather holsters will never compete with the speed of a proper kydex.

Hybrid Holsters:
These makers are a dime a dozen, yet somehow the holsters can cost 80-90bucks on average. Several manufacturers claim theirs is better but they are the same EXACT thing. If you insist on these type of holsters, get ahold of Comp Tac. Their Mtac is the king and the only one that is any different from the rest. They all suffer from the leather side not being stiff. If you tighten your belt, eat too much at dinner, loose 5lbs your retention is not the same and your draw will be adjusted without your knowing.

IWB/OWB
Preference call. The right holster (I will get to this in a second) will hold AND conceal any sized pistol IWB or OWB.

Forbus:
Junk.... brittle plastic. In this category goes the black hawk crap, manufacturer supplied or any other plastic holster.

Panther Holsters: