Florida Concealed Carry banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need clarification on this posted sign in Nordstrom at Merrick Park. I know signs have no legal status but I’ve never seen one that mentions Florida Statues 810 which is for trespassing. Reading the statues it basically say you’re guilty of a third degree felony during the commission ot the offense of trespass.

Attachments

·
Registered
422 Posts
Like you said, the sign means nothing. If they ask you to leave you leave. If you you don’t want to leave then you can be charged.
this is imho btw. I am not a lawyer.

·
Registered
2,758 Posts
Need clarification on this posted sign in Nordstrom at Merrick Park. I know signs have no legal status but I’ve never seen one that mentions Florida Statues 810 which is for trespassing. Reading the statues it basically say you’re guilty of a third degree felony during the commission of the offense of trespass.
But you are NOT guilty of a third degree felony UNLESS there is an intent to commit an offense (other than trespass).
The conditions of Section (paragraph) 2 must be met before the language following it comes into play.

So - my interpretation (IANAL), is that the sign has no effect of law, but if you are asked to leave (really, for whatever reason, but especially so if because you are armed that they don't allow firearms on their propert), then the correct course of action is to leave without making a fuss. And I'll even go one further... if it's a store, NEVER shop there again. Armed or not. Screw 'em. They don't need (or apparently, want) my business.

·
Registered
2,758 Posts
This maybe needs it's own thread, but it's related to this thread (I think?)

This past weekend, I was out doing some photography (translation: avoiding the "honey-do" list), and I happend to notice a "No Firearms" sign at what I believe is a public park.

The spot in question is called "Seacrest Scrub Natural Area".