Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Super Moderator
3,105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a relative rifle newbie, but I like the idea of selecting a fine weapon that I will use for mostly target that will last me forever. I also like this rifle for it's American military historical aspect.

I have been doing some reading, and the model that strikes my interest is the Springfield Armory M1A #9802 National Match, Walnut w/stainless barrel.

I know we have some rifle guys here, and a few Marines who might have trained with the M-14. I would be interested and appreciative if you could offer your thoughts on this weapon, or perhaps a different Springfield model if you feel strongly about one.

Thanks!

·
Registered
11,170 Posts
I don't think you can go wrong with any M1A variant...I love the heck out of my Scout Squad, although I kinda wish I had a SOCOM 16.

:thumsup

·
Registered
55,261 Posts
FLRon,

I've got two M1'a presently. One exactly like your picture, and another rack grade. Ones got the arms scope mounts [ #18 and #19 mating mount ] and sits with a range finding scope good to 800 yds on it. I'm also night vision capable with another mating mount and the AN/PVS 4 military unit I used for surveillance photos in the dark years ago.

I was professionally trained [ iron sighted ] on the M14 platform in 69 in the Corps at Parris Island, SC. Its a great go to rifle, and one of the most accurate, if not the most accurate battle rifle you can buy with the exception of the M1 garand, but that only hold 8 rds and is a bit heavier so I prefer the M1a's.