Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just joined this forum since I am coming to Florida for a 6 month assignment. I have a PA CCW (non-resident) issued by Chester County with a Vermont address on the permit. If I was a PA resident it would be good in Florida. As soon as I arrive in FL I am going to get my prints done electronically, and submit my CCW app. I held a FL CCW in FL until 1998, but like a dope I let it lapse. If I were to be caught carrying with a non-resident PA while waiting for my FL is that considered not having permit = Felony, or is it a minor offense. I hate the thought of glovebox carry and leaving it to be stolen in my car while waiting the 90 days. I don't understand why Florida didn't make it illegal for a Floridian to carry under a non-res, but legal for people like Vermonters have no option. I guess it's all about revenue for Florida. Here in VT we do not need a permit, but that hurts reciprocity. I like Montana. If you have a valid out of state permit you can exchange it for a Montana permit when you become a resident there.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
3,105 Posts
To be on the safe side, I would contact the Florida Division of Licensing and ask them.

Here is a number that should put you in touch with the correct office, or at least put you on the right trail.

(850) 245-5691
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
255 Posts
Yea, since there's no reciprocity then you won't be legal to carry here until you get the FL permit, which would be a felony.

At least you could get one of those COM safes to keep the gun locked up and secured in your car for when you're not in it.

Also, not sure of when you'll be down here but why not start the process of getting a FL permit now?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No felonies needed! I could swing by PA on my way down and get a PA DL and have my CCW converted to a resident license:)

Unfortunately I am leaving on Sunday and FL does NOT honor electronic prints from outside FL.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,558 Posts
I am sorry Vermonter, get your Florida Concealed Weapon application in as soon as possible. Waiting periods were originally about 45 days, with the increase of applications, it may be up to 90 days by now.

If I were to be caught carrying with a non-resident PA while waiting for my FL is that considered not having permit = Felony, or is it a minor offense.
http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/news/concealed_carry.html

FLORIDA'S RECIPROCITY STATES

Vermont (2)

(2) The State of VERMONT is unique in that it does not issue weapon/firearms licenses. Florida licensees - indeed, licensed or unlicensed citizens from any state - may carry in Vermont. This presents a problem for reciprocity with Florida. Florida law provides that an out-of-state resident must have in his or her immediate possession a valid license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm. Since Vermont residents have no such license, the right to concealed carry cannot be extended to them under Florida law.


Pennsylvania (1,6)

1) While Florida's law allows licensees to carry stun guns, knives, and billy clubs in a concealed fashion, the laws in these states allow for concealed carry of handguns or pistols ONLY, NOT WEAPONS IN GENERAL. Florida license holders are prohibited from carrying other types of weapons while in these states.

(6) These states issue concealed carry licenses to qualified individuals who are non-residents. These non-resident permits cannot be honored under Florida's reciprocity provision.


http://www.flsenate.gov/STATUTES/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=Ch0790/SEC01.HTM&Title=->2008->Ch0790->Section%2001#0790.01


The 2008 Florida Statutes

Title XLVI
CRIMES Chapter 790
WEAPONS AND FIREARMS View Entire Chapter

790.01 Carrying concealed weapons.--

(1) Except as provided in subsection (4), a person who carries a concealed weapon or electric weapon or device on or about his or her person commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(2) A person who carries a concealed firearm on or about his or her person commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

(3) This section does not apply to a person licensed to carry a concealed weapon or a concealed firearm pursuant to the provisions of s. 790.06.

(4) It is not a violation of this section for a person to carry for purposes of lawful self-defense, in a concealed manner:

(a) A self-defense chemical spray.

(b) A nonlethal stun gun or dart-firing stun gun or other nonlethal electric weapon or device that is designed solely for defensive purposes.

(5) This section does not preclude any prosecution for the use of an electric weapon or device, a dart-firing stun gun, or a self-defense chemical spray during the commission of any criminal offense under s. 790.07, s. 790.10, s. 790.23, or s. 790.235, or for any other criminal offense.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
4,530 Posts
TampaSsgt's hit it spot on.



To be on the safe side, I would contact the Florida Division of Licensing and ask them.

Here is a number that should put you in touch with the correct office, or at least put you on the right trail.

(850) 245-5691

Unfortunately it's been my experiance that calling the Division of Licensing is more apt to get you a wrong answer as it is a right answer, unless you have a history with a specific individual who you KNOW to be knowledgeable about the issues.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top