Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10,558 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a model 1911 Colt Combat Commander that I bought back in 1974 and carried it as my off duty weapon when I was a LEO.

Right now, it is in great shape and still shoots sweet, but it is a piece of machinery, and all things have their live span. I am concerned about what happens if and when something does finally break on it and having the parts necessary to fix it right away.

I would appreciate it greatly if I could get some advice on what parts are most common to break so I can purchase them now and have them in my possession if and when the time comes.

·
Registered
11,197 Posts
Are you concerned about the future availability of parts? Because I don't think that the supply of 1911 parts is going to dry up anytime soon, even if Obama is able to implement elements of his gun control agenda.

Extractor
Ejector
Firing pin
Springs
Sights

These are the parts that I'm guessing are most prone to failure (mostly because they're small and more fragile), but it's not an inclusive list by any means.

·
Registered
55,472 Posts
Extractor, firing pin and recoil springs, magazines, firing pin [ if it's not a 38 super pin which it probably is, it won't ever need to ever be replaced ]..

You should replace the springs together about every 5K rds

The extractor may need to be adjusted ocassioanlly but won't need to be replaced unless it chips out on the claw for about 25k

Brownie

·
Registered
10,558 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Deadeye and Brownie, thanks for the info!!

My concern is a little combination of Obama in office and parts availability, and/or having something break on it, when I need it, and having the parts handy to make it operational ASAP to keep the "zombies" at bay. :drinks

·
Registered
34 Posts
Just purchased

I just purchased a XSE series Colt Commander.

Question:

On your 1974 1911..........what have you had to replace at this time, if anything ?