Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bars and restaurant info seems pretty straight forward and easy to find online but having trouble finding out if its legal to purchase alcohol to go in a liquor, grocery or gas station convenience stores...

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
The statute reads:
"Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to such purpose"
underlining mine
I take that to mean a bar or the part of a restaurant having a bar. But a liquor store is OK as they are not licensed to dispense..
I am not a lawyer.  

·
Registered
4,845 Posts
The statute reads:
"Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to such purpose"
underlining mine
I take that to mean a bar or the part of a restaurant having a bar. But a liquor store is OK as they are not licensed to dispense..
I am not a lawyer.  
That is my interpretation as well.
I treat a liquor store as I would any other retail establishment, like a Publix.
Even a Publix or Costco separate liquor store is OK, so long as they are not dispending alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.

Where it gets a bit interesting (to me) is a Total Wine store when they are actively doing taste testing.
Even there, I still carry, since I can not know from the parking lot whether a taste-testing is going on or not.
Of course, I would not participate in a taste testing while carrying.

·
Registered
21,621 Posts
i take it to mean you cant belly up to the bar...alcohol is not dispensed at tables...it is dispensed at the bar...that is the portion of the establishment dedicated to that...

·
Super Moderator
32,233 Posts