Welcome to FCC from Palm Beach County, Judo7804!Now that the wife and I have escaped Washington state we are looking to get our Florida CCW's. We are looking for a class to get this done. We have legally carried for past 10 years and feel naked without. Looking for first class we can get into. Thanks
If you're a veteran, take a look at our Military Service Thread where you'll find many of us there, too!790.015 Nonresidents who are United States citizens and hold a concealed weapons license in another state; reciprocity.—
(1) Notwithstanding s. 790.01, a nonresident of Florida may carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm while in this state if the nonresident:
(a) Is 21 years of age or older.
(b) Has in his or her immediate possession a valid license to carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm issued to the nonresident in his or her state of residence.
(c) Is a resident of the United States.
(2) A nonresident is subject to the same laws and restrictions with respect to carrying a concealed weapon or concealed firearm as a resident of Florida who is so licensed.
(3) If the resident of another state who is the holder of a valid license to carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm issued in another state establishes legal residence in this state by:
(a) Registering to vote;
(b) Making a statement of domicile pursuant to s. 222.17; or
(c) Filing for homestead tax exemption on property in this state,
the license shall remain in effect for 90 days following the date on which the holder of the license establishes legal state residence.
(4) This section applies only to nonresident concealed weapon or concealed firearm licenseholders from states that honor Florida concealed weapon or concealed firearm licenses.
(5) The requirement of paragraph (1)(a) does not apply to a person who:
(a) Is a servicemember, as defined in s. 250.01; or
(b) Is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged under honorable conditions.
History.—s. 1, ch. 99-132; s. 2, ch. 2012-108.
If you had anymore qualifications you'd have run out of paperWelcome to FCC from Palm Beach County, Judo7804!
At the very least, if your training for a Washington State permit meets the standards I f.s.790.06, you should be able to use that trading for your Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License (CWFL), but also carefully read f.s. 790.015 because I believe you can carry for 90 days:
If you're a veteran, take a look at our Military Service Thread where you'll find many of us there, too!
In case you weren't aware, you can stay current on pertinent Florida Statutes regarding use of force and firearms law by going right to the source using these links for Chapter 776 - Justifiable Use of Force and Chapter 790 - Weapons and Firearms. I'd also like to suggest you obtain your own copy of FLORIDA FIREARMS Law, Use & Ownership by Jon Gutmacher!
Also, I highly recommend you read this thread to understand how to navigate FCC to get the most out of your experience. One particular item that's caught many veteran FCC members off guard is the "Recommended Reading" at the bottom of each page, which MAY contain quite old threads of inactive conversations lacking up-to-date information or context. So beware of the date of the last post (just to the right of the post number) in any thread you come across so you don't mistakenly think every post is recent and start responding to very old posts/threads that been dormant for quite some time, sometimes for many years.
Again, welcome to FCC and good luck!
USAF NCO 1980-1984, DoD 1987-Present. Member: Florida Carry, COTEP 766, SAF, GOA Life, NRA Endowment Life, NRA CRSO & CI: P-R-S-PPITH
Welcome from Nature's Coast Fl.Now that the wife and I have escaped Washington state we are looking to get our Florida CCW's. We are looking for a class to get this done. We have legally carried for past 10 years and feel naked without. Looking for first class we can get into. Thanks