Florida Concealed Carry banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So, against the popular vote, I went and got myself the Taurus Slim chambered in .40 S&W. And, after a really short range trip last night, I'm feeling pretty confident in my choice!

It's been in for about a week now, and last night, on a whim, I called up a friend and took them out to go "break it in" with me. We got to the range with only about 20 minutes left to go through the 100 rounds that I brought along, so we weren't exactly pacing our shooting. We got a system going though, and while one of us "unloaded" a mag, the other topped off the next one. We made it through all 100 rounds in less than 15 minutes, and shot one handed with our dominant and off hands, two handed, and from the hip.

The fact that we did not encounter a single malfunction really helped us make good time! :thumsup

Some thoughts:

- It's my first time with a pistol this small, and the recoil spring in this thing makes it so that a more conscious effort to rack the slide has to be made (In comparison to the full-size pistols I'm used to handling).

- I brought the sight adjustment tool but did not even need to glance at it. It was dead on out of the box, which was a relief for me, having heard so many other people online complain about their 709's shooting low and left out of the box. :thumsup

- The Slim's recoil with the .40? Totally manageable! That's another worry that was (fair, but) a bit unfounded. I'm going back soon to try out the SD rounds that I bought for it after shooting that same night, and I'll give my verdict on their recoil after.

- My friend, whose fingers are a bit fatter, reported that he found it easier to hold the pistol one-handed than he did with two hands. We're still working on his grip though, so I dunno. I personally found it easy to hold/handle with one or both hands.