Florida Concealed Carry banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
4,286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was at the range yesterday and my Ruger 22LR Lite using CCI Mini Mags key holed at 20 feet.I stopped shooting and called Ruger when I got home, They told me it was because lead in the barrel and it needs to be removed.
Was the Rep correct and what is a good way to remove the lead without hurting the bore?
I soaked it in Balastol and used a brush and snake until it looks really clean

·
Registered
10,920 Posts
Wow! It looks like you took a handful of bullets and threw them at the target.

For that to happen because of lead, I would imagine (and I'm no expert) that the grooves would have to be completely fouled with lead, such that it renders the barrel a smooth-bore. Is that even possible? It would be interesting to see a scope view of the bore.

How many rounds through it since the last cleaning?

·
Registered
2,626 Posts
Would like to see the scoped before and after cleaning pictures

·
Registered
2,626 Posts
That is totally new to me.

·
Registered
2,828 Posts
Keyholing is potentially caused by a number of different things. The bullet stabilizes from the spin imparted upon it from the rifling in the barrel. If the rifling is worn out, if there’s damage near the end of the barrel or if the barrel is leaded to the point that the bullet doesn’t spin appropriately, it can hit the target sideways. A bullet is kind of like a drill bit spinning as it flies, if it slows, wobbles, etc. it becomes unpredictable.

Brownie is correct regarding bullet weight. In an AR 15 sometimes a one in nine twist barrel will stabilize certain weight projectiles but a one in seven twist might be necessary to stabilize something like a tracer.

·
Registered
4,286 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I will be shooting it tomorrow and hope the deep cleaning took care of the problem.
I'll let ya all know.
Ronnie

Reactions: Rick McC.

·
Registered
5,950 Posts
Waiting on results from a cleaned barrel.