Florida Concealed Carry banner

Middle name on application

4K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  Marlinluvr 
#1 ·
Has anyone dealt with this or knows? The application says no middle initial on finger print card or application. I have a middle name but didn’t like it and now my drivers license and passport only have a middle initial, my social security card no middle initial or middle name if that matters at all. I’m thinking to just list the full middle name to be safe but worried it could cause confusion/problems/delays. Anyone know what the best course of action would be?

#2 ·
I am sure same as driver's license will be fine. I use just my middle initial all the time. Your name is legalized through use.
It matters more for your credit report. Using your name different ways creates "aliases" but if you are consistent, then there will be no problem.

But I am not a lawyer. If it says no initials, then use the full name.

#3 ·
Welcome to FCC from Palm Beach County, Al.B! :wave

I'm not certain if I understand your question completely but something to think about is will DOACS be able to establish your correct identity for the background check to vet your application? If you have a relatively common first and last name making it more difficult for them to establish who they are conducting the background check on, the might delay your application.

Since you've now made you first post to FCC, without an introduction, please take the time to post you're own Introduction to FCC so the members will get to know you. You can do that by going to the Introduce Yourself section of The Front Office and start your very own introduction thread. Then you'll find that lots of other FCC members will know to chime in to properly welcome you to the forum, and will be more responsive in answering questions! Also, if you're a veteran, take a look at our Military Service Thread where you'll find many of us there, too!