Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a knife with a 4.2 inch blade. I will assume that this knife could not be carried into a bar. The blade being longer than 4 inches means it is no longer a typical pocket knife.
Any help is appreciated.
Jerry

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
Per the most recent case law that I am aware of, you are correct. I would have to look back but the ruling was that a folding knife with a four inch blade (I can't honestly remember if it was four inches or less than four inches) was a common pocket knife and thus not a weapon. That does not mean that a folding knife with a blade with a 4.2 inch blade is a weapon, just that a court has not ruled, and therefore you would have to be a test case.

I am not a lawyer and that is not legal advise, I'm just sharing my understanding of the current statutes and case law.

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
I had a few minutes to look at some case law this afternoon... enjoy.

700 So. 2d 370 (1997)
L.B., Appellant, v. STATE of Florida, Appellee.
No. 89424.
Supreme Court of Florida.
October 2, 1997.

From J.B v. State:

[4] We note that neither the Attorney General nor this Court maintains that four inches is a bright line cutoff for determining whether a particular knife is a "common pocketknife." We merely hold that appellant's knife fits within the exception to the definition of weapon found in section 790.001(13). We decline to consider whether a pocketknife with a blade-length in excess of four inches can be considered a "common pocketknife."

·
Registered
7,596 Posts
Is that your knife poking out or are you just happy to see me?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: oldhunter1954

·
Registered
8,558 Posts