Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still new to conceal carry and do so with a Taurus PT111 inside the waist band witha Galco holster. This works out good most of the time but there are some occasions where it does not. Many of you guys talk about pocket carry and I have been thinking about it. My concerns about pocket carry is that I don't think you can draw from your pocket as fast as you would from the waist. Am I wrong. If decided to do this is better to carry in the front pocket or a cargo pants pocket.

·
Super Moderator
3,105 Posts
Greetings Yardman! Pocket carry is quite quick. Perhaps even more important is the ability for you to have a full grip on your weapon while it is still in your pocket, fully concealed.

I favor the Smith & Wesson .38 in the "Centennial" configuration, which has a fully enclosed hammer so that there is nothing to snag when you draw.

Perhaps the only thing I would look out for if and when you decide to pocket carry is that you purchase pants and shorts that have deep pockets. If the pocket is too shallow, the pocket holster can ride up and you could have a problem when you fold your legs, or sit in a deep chair.

Here is a pic on the S&W442 Centennial model along with a pic of the Desantis Nemesis holster that i use.

Good luck.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Perhaps even more important is the ability for you to have a full grip on your weapon while it is still in your pocket, fully concealed.
This is why I come to this forum. To learn. I never thought about the fact that you can just stand ther with your hands in your pocket already gripping your weapon and still remain concealed (very sneaky :D). Also I have never seen a revolver without an exposed hammer. I'll look into it because I'll need one for the pocket. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
3,105 Posts