Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a newbie to handguns I am curious what everybody did to get better in the different aspects of CCW.

Did you read books? Did you hit websites? Did you pay for classes? Did you find coaches? Did you go to the range and watch others?

This can be concealment techniques, the way you draw, trigger control, how you hold your weapon, cleaning or just about anything else you may have learned.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
115 Posts
As a newbie myself I suspect that the way to improve is to do all of the above. I suspect that you also never stop learning. I hope to hear from you more experienced guys.

·
Registered
297 Posts
All of the above would be ideal...but I have been carrying for 15 years...and have generally been too broke to afford much "professional" training...as much as I would have liked it.

Read, read, read...practice what you read and develop muscle memory and positive carry habits...

Lately...I have been considering buying one of those realistic airsoft guns myself and going out into the yard and practicing various carry techniques as well as playing out tactical scenarios.

Also...research has also proven that visualization of what you successfully want to accomplish is a very effective training method for just about anything...so close your eyes...and let your mind lead you through various scenarios and what you would do in response.

If you can afford additional training...certainly obtain as much as you can get. :)

·
Registered
115 Posts
For me I checked out the reference materials others recommend in the different forums. I also am a practical thinker. After I got over the initial feeling of invincibility that owning my first gun brought I started reading as much real life self defense shootings and realized that whatever I did to train must take into account the realities of the real world. I too agree that you never stop learning.

·