Florida Concealed Carry banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know anything about older Honda three wheeler’s made in the 80s. There are two for sale I’m looking at, they were used by a racecar team in the pits and my friend that used to ride them called them “leaners” because of the suspension.

I’m making an offer on a bunch of equipment including a 1969 Hurst Olds and I’d like to buy these two but would just like to know a little something about them.

·
Registered
5,386 Posts
I’m no mechanic by any stretch. I once spent two days replacing a water pump in my truck, a couple hours work for anyone else. Lol

But I spent my youth on those 3 wheelers. What are you trying to learn? What models are they? At one time, the Honda Big Red was kind of the grandaddy of the bunch.

IMHO, they’re far more maneuverable than a 4 wheeler. But, they do take some skill to do safely. At any speed, a turn requires the inside rear wheel to lift. The light front end made them excessively easy to flip over backwards. They’ve been called death machines because the design makes them so easy to roll or flip.

Ive got a scar on my leg because I put my foot down turning once and the outside rear tire nabbed it and literally yanked me off. But, I was also a teenager. We did some sketchy stuff on them. 😏

·
Registered
3,694 Posts
Used to know someone who had one. You have to drive them VERY carefully! Honda took them off the market specifically because they are so very easy to flip over, and kids were getting hurt.

·
Registered
789 Posts
My kids and I have thousands of hours on them. You do stupid chit, they hurt you. Don't do stupid chit, they are a blast. Same thing applies to any machine. Firearms comes to mind.

·
Registered
5,386 Posts
Homey don’t need no death machines, thanks!
LOL.