Florida Concealed Carry banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
55,202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Developing fast twitch muscles or slow twitch muscles, which do you work on more than the other, and ----------------why? Do you know how both are developed, their purpose and the potential benefit on the streets [ SD wise ]?

·
Registered
5,832 Posts
Well, I’m not going to spoil it for folks but as an offshore fisherman, I’ve been a student of fast twitch versus slow twitch muscles for years. Tuna are slow twitch muscle fish. Their musculature is aerobic in nature, fatigue resistant and they just keep going and going like the energizer bunny. Typically those muscle fibers are dark red being very vascular. Atlantic dolphin or, as the yuppies call the “ mahi-mahi“ are fast twitch muscle fibers fish. They are capable of very fast runs for short periods of time and then they run out of gas. They have a very light colored white meat that goes well with Chardonnay.

·
Registered
8,739 Posts
Developing fast twitch muscles or slow twitch muscles, which do you work on more than the other, and ----------------why? Do you know how both are developed, their purpose and the potential benefit on the streets [ SD wise ]?
I don’t know Brownie.

I can play guitar licks very fast, which requires a lot of fast movement of the fingers of the left hand, and fast picking with the right, which mostly involves whole hand movement from the wrist, along with the anchor point of the right hand little finger, or a combination of little finger and right hand ring finger. That’s for a flat picker (which I am), as opposed to a finger picker, which I only use occasionally when playing acoustic guitar.

None of that creates any “fast twich” muscle development of my right hand trigger finger as far as I can tell...

·
Registered
20,764 Posts