Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife inadvertently let her cwp expire more than a year ago...so she cannot renew it...she has to start over.

Thing is...she originally got her permit over 10 years ago...and her original firearms training certificate was damaged and she tossed it years ago.

After reading the statutes again...I contacted the state to verify that she would be able to renew using the fact that she held a permit...as proof of past training. I was told that no...she could not do so...but that since her old certificate was gone...and so was the company that issued it...she would have to get retrained. Now since I have become an NRA Instructor that isn't the major problem...but it's the fact that the statute states...
.......
2. Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course;

3. Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law enforcement, junior college, college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association, Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission, or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services;

4. Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement;

5. Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;

6. Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state or a county or municipality of this state, unless such license has been revoked for cause; or

7. Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor;
.......................
Anyone else have thoughts on this issue? Any other experience with this type of thing?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
3,949 Posts
Based on what you posted I dont see what issue they should have. Her permit was not revoked only expired. What comes into play is time. Is there anything in the statute that mentions how long after the expiration of a permit can it not be used toward the aquisition of a new one. This is what I would find out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nothing that I have been able to find. Based on my conversation with the States CSR...I came to the conclusion that she was unknowledgeable and unwilling to find out for herself...but then that's why I was asking...to se if anyone else has ever run into anything like this.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
3,949 Posts
Whenever I call any business or government agency I always get at least three different opinions. Customer service is not what it used to be. After trying several times I usually find someone knowledgeable about my situation. So, call again and speak to someone else.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
If for some reason you fail to renew your license by its expiration date, keep in mind that your Concealed Weapon or Firearm license can be renewed up to six (6) months beyond the expiration date in accordance with section 790.06(11)(a), Florida Statutes. However, there is a late fee of $15.00 for renewing after the expiration date. A concealed weapon license that has been expired for longer than six months cannot be renewed. If you fail to renew within that six-month period after expiration, you will have to apply for a new license.

From their website
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top