Florida Concealed Carry banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14,865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been an instructor over 40 yrs. 60,000 plus students in my school. My way is not the only way. But I do have a history and certifications to justify both my curriculum and technique.
I am not a YouTube genie. I probably don’t rate in the top 100 instructors in the country. I am on the down hill side of a mediocre career.
I do own the oldest continuing firearms academy in Florida.
I have trained under some of the most famous instructors this world has ever known. Jim Cirrillo, Rex Applegate, Louis Awerbuck, Paul Castle, Jeff Cooper. What did they all have in common? A certifiable curriculum that actually worked. They had thousands of students that used their techniques to save their lives. They had certifications from many different organizations that solidified their techniques.
They all agreed on one thing. Their way was not the only way.
When I look at training today, I am astounded. Not that training is less today than before. Just that the trainers are not what they seem. The amount of unqualified trainers making huge money on unproven techniques and curriculum are astounding.
A basic NRA pistol certificate does not make you an operator. Keep in mind as an NRA training Counselor I have certified over 600 instructors. It also does not give you the ability to teach outside of your lane.
My God, if you are spending good money on training, do not spend it on YouTube videos.
Vet your Fu*cking instructors.

·
Registered
15,778 Posts
I just sent a full mag of Wilson Combat custom .45 ammo through the washer. Twice. At least it's clean and well trained...

·
Registered
21,572 Posts
today there is something to be said for tacticool training and it attracts a great number of people for the fluff...

·
Registered
13,671 Posts
My wife says I used to be a “real operator” until she bit-ch slapped me and made me marry her. :cool::ROFLMAO:

·
Registered