Experience/ de-escalation of conflict
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Experience/ de-escalation of conflict

Distinguished Member

Experience/ de-escalation of conflict

Day before yesterday I was in my favorite barbecue joint for lunch by myself. I sat all the way in the back as far as I could on the two top tables as is my habit. I can see the front door, the cash register and was close to the exit.

There was one table for six sort of behind me to the left in the corner. This enormous gelatinous galoot comes walking through the restaurant with an overstuffed backpack and he just looked weird. I studied him carefully as he walked by and then he sat facing the back wall and was fishing around in his backpack. I was watching him intently at this point when he switched sides of the table , pulled out a big laptop and looked directly at me and said in a loud voice “what are you looking at?”

As he pulled out the laptop I thought to myself “here I go again“ being very concerned I would have to fight this knucklehead about twice my size and a third my age.

I used a line that has saved my ass more than once, I said to him “are you a movie actor? I swear I’ve seen you in the movies“ he smiled and I realized everything was OK. Back in the day I probably would’ve told him I was looking at an enormous gelatinous Creeper with a backpack and a fight would have started. It’s amazing how the aging process teaches us a few things.

I pass this on because it has helped me get out of a pickle more than once and it never seems to miss.
    Last edited by Shark1007; 02-01-2020 at 02:13 PM.

Distinguished Member deadeyedick's Avatar
    That's not how I would have handled that situation...but your method was probably smarter.

I'd have likely said something like, "What are you, stupid or blind? I'm looking right at you."
    "It's Fumbles...it was always Fumbles."

Dr. Calvin "Fumbles" Killshot

Love it. Great line. Filing away in the brain, but hopefully won't have to use it.