Revised Fl gun laws
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Revised Fl gun laws

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008

    Revised Fl gun laws

    Maybe Mr Buckley can comment on this question..... Florida, as we know, has a 3 business day wait for handgun purchases W/O a concealed weapons license and no wait for long guns.
    In SE Florida,namely Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade counties have a MANDATORY 5 business day wait on ALL firearm purchases W/O a conceales weapon license. They also negate other parts of the state law...IE- Active LEO's W/O concealed license MUST wait 5 days. A customer in possession of a firearm and wishing to "trade up" must also wait.....
    My Question to Patrick.....Does the new statute ELIMINATE these local requirements???? Or is it going to be "restrictive business as usual" in SE Florida ???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    ponte vedra beach FLA
    no those laws are not eliminated, there is a provision in the law to allow counties to impose these waiting periods

  3. #3
    Senior Member Wheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    The state constitution authorizes those waiting periods.

    "(b) Each county shall have the authority to require a criminal history records check and a 3 to 5-day waiting period, excluding weekends and legal holidays, in connection with the sale of any firearm occurring within such county. For purposes of this subsection, the term “sale” means the transfer of money or other valuable consideration for any firearm when any part of the transaction is conducted on property to which the public has the right of access. Holders of a concealed weapons permit as prescribed by general law shall not be subject to the provisions of this subsection when purchasing a firearm."

    Since the waiting period is authorized by the constitution it will not be affected by the preemption statute.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

3 day wait gun laws florida 2014


fl gun law 3 day wait


revision to fl concealed carry law

Click on a term to search for related topics.