Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations: AR-15 200-300+ yard scope

Recommendations: AR-15 200-300+ yard scope

Hey,

Looking for a few good recommendations for a scope good for ~300 yards.

First, I have no experience of shooting at that range and looking forward to getting some.

I have an EO Tech 512 but never really got comfortable with it, feel better/more comfortable with the iron sights. So instead of adding a magnifier I want to get rid of the EO Tech and find a good scope.

Local ranges are no longer than 100 yards, so I plan to get a good scope, get it dialed in then travel up north to a range with longer distances.

Thinking of an acog type but would like to keep the price close to that of the EO Tech ~$500.

Rifle is a LE6920 if that matters any.

Thanks for reading and any recommendations.

Banned
    Last edited by SGB; 12-05-2010 at 04:07 PM.

I just bought one of these for my new 6.8. From what everyone at 68forum says this is a great scope for the $...I picked up the one with a BDC reticle that I'll be using for target and some hunting $169 shipped. http://www.joeboboutfitters.com/Vipe...vpr-m-02g4.htm

Thanks for the responses/recommendations.

Just making sure I understand:
    SGB's scope magnifies up to 10x from a 42mm lens and nosaj750's scope magnifies 2-7x through a 32mm lens?

The Acog would probably be closer to $1,000. An Aimpoint would be about $500.

The scope you buy should suit your shooting style or intention. How much shooting do you expect to do at 200? At 300? And what type of accuracy are you aiming for? Is it for target practicing to shoot small groups? Do you have a match grade gun? Or is this a self defense weapon? I think answering all these questions are important in choosing a scope.