Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Folding pocket knife carry on school property ?

Folding pocket knife carry on school property ?

Hey Friends.
    I am going over the Fl. statutes. Am I reading it right ? that you can carry a common pocket knife on school property but prohibited from displaying it ?
    I would rather carry a gun, instead of a big stick !!

Type of school? College, private college, public university?

I carry my automatic pocket knives at work (private university) even though by the HR rules, I'm not supposed to. But then again, I also carried them there when I was a student there too and it was against the student policy.
    Stainless Kimber Ultra Carry II .45acp
    S&W full size M&P9

NRA Member
    CWFL

"The practical measures that we take are always based on the assumption that our enemies are not unintelligent." - Achidamus II, King of Sparta

"Verily, thou are not paid for thy methods, but for thy results, by which meaneth thou shalt kill thine enemy by any means available before he killeth you." - The Ninth Commandment from Richard Marcinko's book Leadership Secrets of the Rogue Warrior

My understanding is this: Common pocketknife with permit, yes. Student with pocketknife, NO, due to most schools having a zero tolerance policy when it comes to weapons.
    I am not a lawyer. Nor do I play one on TV. Any statement I may make is my opinion only and should not be construed as legal advice. If you are seeking legal advice, seek the counsel of a competent attorney.

Distinguished Member bladenbullet's Avatar
    790.01 Definitions.--As used in this chapter, except where the context otherwise requires:

(13) "Weapon" means any dirk, knife, metallic knuckles, slungshot, billie, tear gas gun, chemical weapon or device, or other deadly weapon except a firearm or a common pocketknife, plastic knife, or blunt-bladed table knife.