Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Accidental Brandishing Precautions

Cool Accidental Brandishing Precautions

Ok, So, I'm a newbie to this Forum, and to concealed carry, and there might be a thread like this, but I couldn't find it, so please direct me to it if there is one.

I carry a Ruger SR9c in an inside the belt holster, in my belt, on the back, and I try my hardest to dress around the concealment, so that I don't have to worry about printing, or worse, brandishing. BUT, I've been putting some thought into (What if?) my hands are lifted and my shirt reveals the gun and an innocent civilian behind me sees the (scary) black gun tucked in my pants...
    I know I could quickly explain my legality of carry, IF they asked, but most people wouldn't ask an armed man why he has a gun.

I was reading some threads about a CCW badge, but, I know that could be misconstrued as impersonating an officer, but I was curious if there could be a way around that.

Here's my idea, how about making a color copy of my CCW, laminating it, and attaching it to the clip of the holster, so that if the gun is "accidentally brandished", a color- photograph- ID would be in front of it. I think that if I were completely oblivious to concealed carry, like most citizens are, and I saw a gun with a photo ID in front of it, it would ease my concern for my safety. I would still have my real CCW in my wallet for a run-in with a LEO. I just think that this could hold-off on a person yelling "OMG HE'S GOT A GUN!"

I'm just thinking every possible situation through, and I might be missing something, let me know what you think, maybe it's a bad idea.

Accidental exposure is NOT brandishing but should be avoided if at all possible. No ID, badge or any other ID would make it better, IMHO.